Travel Diaries: A Swiss Affair 

Ever since I have known about Snow I have always wanted to visit Switzerland! And as I say Swiss, Snow, Chocolates, Cheese and Swiss Knife pop on top of my wishlist. I knew I couldn’t take Snow back home but the rest and offcourse the Bell has kept me fascinated for years after watching DDLJ! 

As we crossed over the border of Italy and entered I would be lying if I don’t tell you that the writter just awakened from within. We touched swiss after a long Tunnel and what a contrast of weather, from winter chills we went to snowfall Hills. I have seen snow in my native country but catching glimpses of the first snowfall of winter in Switzerland was a moment which just fulfilled my trip. The snow flakes slowly and steadily settled on the coniferous trees along the montain slopes, the houses along the road’s rooftops got a coating, also the cars and pathways weren’t spared from turning into white beauties. It was a matter of worry before, as to how was I going to survive the winter but now it turned into a treat. My camera just couldn’t get enough of the snow scenes so did my eyes, and the eyes won over as I kept down the camera to fill my personal memory storage,aka brain! As we halted for lunchtime, the restaurant to my surprise had tables lined by the window panes overlooking the mountains. It was hot indian food and the icy cold view. The food was excellent, my favourite rajasthani sweet pickle which is hard to find even back home and an apple sheera for dessert, couldn’t ask for more. 

We then left for Mt.Titlis. Here after buying a ticket and you also get a sticker pass to be put on. Then you first have to get into the “Gondola”, which is a six seater cable car that takes you to the point where there is a station for “Rotair”, that is a big cable car with a capacity of 60 people and revolves on its axis as it carries to Mt.Titlis. Surrounded by snow it was completely white except for the colourful specks which were people climbing down the mountain. 

The Mt Titlis has 5 storey building, with open snow area on 5th floor, the place I was most looking forward to.

 It also has a restaurant and bar on 2nd floor but we chose to go to the Move n Pick Ice cream parlour on level 3. I had the swiss chocolate ice cream since I wanted to try things local, it was the most creamy chocolate I ever had. It cost us a little less than four euros but it was definitely all part of the frozen memories that I was going to carry back home. 

We also visited Lucerne, which was again a very scenic place by the Coblebruck. It had a row of cafés by the lake which had beautiful Christmas decor already. It was a day well spent. 

Author: ame7soeur

Someone who believes in living life with a heartful of positivity and a tummy full of sweets! Everything around me inspires me and I believe each day is a learning experience.

Leave a Reply

