‘Paint the town Red’

Can you guess what’s special about today? The day that fills hearts of all sizes to your imagination and sells roses at prices sky high,a day every girl secretly wishes to be with her lover in a land of fantasy, a day when chocolate and teddy seems like the staple diet,a day when love just seems so fancy,yes, I’m talking about “Valentines day”!!! But valentines isn’t really about lovers, but falling in love with all those people who make your life worthwhile, fill it with treasured moments and enlighten the soul. So why not begin with “Me”? Lets pledge today to love ourselves.

“Love yourself”, every time I say this it reminds me of Bipasha Basu,whose fitness DVD I had purchased very excitedly in the first week of its release, thats how crazy I am if I am really hooked onto something and I am sure most of you must have also done something alike. There were two levels, starting with beginners.Initially it was me following the entire routine as shown and then I went onto see the segment where Bips spoke about her endeavours, and the only thing she kept focussing on the entire time is”love yourself”.Although today, I don’t follow that routine,nor did I ever graduate to the next level of that workout, but I think she managed to inspire quite a lot of people like me who look upto her as a fitness icon,and the pocket money spent on that DVD seems to have paid off. Yet I wonder that why is it that we are always looking for inspiration outside and constantly comparing ourselves with our role models? Why can’t we connect with ourselves from within? Is it difficult to make up our mind or is it a task to adapt to change for the better? These are exactly the questions I want to ask you. If you can do so much for the people you love in your life, can’t you just be kind enough to yourself too? Can you not dedicate some time to fall in love with yourself too?

I am a fitness freak but I can’t expect the same level of enthusiasm from every individual but all I can say is that its addictive, in a good way, because any form of workout releases Endorphins or the commonly known happy hormones,thus releasing stress and increasing blood circulation. “Yog is the science of linking the individual self with universal self. It tries to expand the narrow, constricted and egoistic personality to the all pervasive, eternal and blissful state of reality”. So if you are somebody who has never exercised or you are somebody who has been gymming all thier life, experience Yog for once. The reason I used the word experience and not try is very deep. You would never know what I am talking about until and unless you experience, because “Yog is an experience”. Adapting a healthy lifestyle and incorporating Yog as a part of it is a gift you can gift yourself this valentines. We can think clearly and concentrate to maximum capacity only if our mind, body and soul are connected deeply.

TIP: Start your day chanting three omkaras, followed by suryanamaskar gradually increasing the time and number,but beginning with 10. To be performed under a yoga trainer.

image

Author: ame7soeur

Someone who believes in living life with a heartful of positivity and a tummy full of sweets! Everything around me inspires me and I believe each day is a learning experience.

Leave a Reply

